BooktifuL

BooktifuL

The Readers' Platform

Reading books has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. It was once a hobby, then turned to be an addiction. In my quest to source for my reads (preferably eBooks) I found it so hard to obtain books from a centralized place. Most of the times I would move from one website to another looking for one that supports payment gateway available in my country. For that reason, I came up with the idea of BooktifuL.

Features

BooktifuL is meant to be a one-stop eStore for your bookish needs. I built it as my portfolio project to conclude the end of my 9 months of Foundations Curriculum at alx. The standard scheduled time is 2 weeks, just enough to have the MVP ready. I am planning to continue working on it afterwards and implement the extra features.

Implemented

1. Test-user login/signup : Users can create a BooktifuL account or login an existing one.

2. Book search : Once logged in, users can use the search bar to surf for books of their choice by typing the book title, the author name or ISBN

3. Book preview : Users can preview any book in the search results.

Not implemented yet

  1. Setting up login/signup Firebase database
  2. Searching books by genre
  3. Enable users to upload and sell their books
  4. Set payment gateways
  5. Enhance in-app reading experience
  6. Configure user-defined account settings
  7. Build cart feature

Team

My name is Firdaus and I am the sole developer of this project. I worked on it alone mainly to evaluate my strengths and stretch my practical working limits as a developer. While developing, I realized that my interests lie more on front-end development than back-end. I'm in the next few months, I will be specializing in front-end development.

Tech-Stack & Architecture

web app architecture.png

  • Front-end: HTML5, CSS3, Vanilla JavaScript
  • Framework: Bootstrap
  • Libraries: jQuery
  • API: Google Books API
  • Host: Netlify

As a front-end developer, I decided to use jquery to fetch resources. In this MVP, BooktifuL does not have a comprehensive back-end.

Challenges

I had a not-so-easy time to figure out the best web app framework to use. The 2-week development term was not enough to learn and implement a framework (with my learning speed). I thought to use Flask, or maybe Django, but ended up using none for the MVP. I intend to advance with Django later on and scale the application.

Reflection

If I was to start over this project, I would put more time into planning and setting up resources so that I do not get destructed when building it.

Conclusion

The video below shows the current features of BooktifuL

Project’s Repository | Deployed App | Project’s Landing Page | LinkedIn Profile